Gear Review: Primary Arms GLX 2.5-10×44 FFP Rifle Scope

Primary Arms GLX 2.5-10x44 Rifle Scope

Travis Pike for TTAG

The best part of this job is learning new thing about the gun world. Today I had to learn how to handle a proper optic. Most of my optics fall into the prism, red dot, or LPVO range, and of my LPVOs, none are very expensive. Today I have the Primary Arms GLx 2.5-10X FFP Illuminated optic, and it’s a right proper rifle scope

The Philippine-made GLx is a first focal plane scope, and I knew as soon as I opened it, there was some learning to be done. Any optic that comes with two instruction manuals is bound to be an educational experience. One manual that Primary Arms includes is dedicated to the optic, and the other is dedicated to use of the reticle. The GLx 2.5-10X Raptor comes with various reticle options, but this particular model is armed with Primary Arms’ very versatile ACSS Griffin MIL reticle. 

Primary Arms GLX 2.5-10x44 Rifle Scope

(Courtesy of Travis Pike for TTAG)

As a former machine gunner, I know a little bit about MILs, enough to feel comfortable with both making scope adjustments and manipulating a T&E optic on a tripod. I also know 5.56 drop decently well, so I tossed the GLx on my Ares SCR based rifle. I also utilized a GLx scope mount, and installation was quick and easy. The night vision-compatible GLx isn’t really a budget scope, and according to my internet, browsing will run $650 bucks when it’s released. I approached the review with the price in mind. 

I like to think I’m good at reviewing budget optics — and I’ve done a lot of that — so trying out a more sophisticated, more expensive optic with long-range potential was a pleasure. The GLx comes with some nice features out of the box. This includes Butler Creek lens covers, heavily textured everything, and a high quality black matte finish.

The GLx – Outside First

Everything seems massive on this optic. The turrets, the magnification ring, and the 44mm objective lens seem large for a 2.5-10X optic. The turrets are clearly marked with MIL adjustment numbers, so referencing is easy, and you can easily see the markings from behind the optic. The turrets lock via a simple button lock, and when the device is depressed, the turrets turn smoothly in easily. 

Primary Arms GLX 2.5-10x44 Rifle Scope

The turrets are fantastic (Courtesy of Travis Pike for TTAG)

The parallax adjustment and illumination ring are combined together. The GLx has ten illumination settings and between each setting is an off position. I love this design, and it makes it easy to go to your chosen illumination setting. 

The magnification ring is heavily textured and fits with a fin for smooth magnification changes. That fin can be removed and positioned in one of three spots on the magnification ring. 

ACCS Griffin MIL Reticle 

The Griffin variant of the popular Primary Arms ACCS reticle has a whole lot going on. This includes the following:

  • An Illuminated chevron
  • A MIL stadia ranging tool
  • Left and right moving target leads
  • MIL grid for windage at various distances
  • Ranging ladders
  • A half donut CQB reticle for rapid close-range fire

Primary Arms GLX 2.5-10x44 Rifle Scope

The ACSS Griffin MIL reticle is complicated at first, but very useful. (Courtesy of Travis Pike for TTAG)

The manual included for the Griffin MIL reticle is a must-read if you’re going to take full advantage of everything the reticle can do. The manual very adequately describes how to use each feature. The moving target leads, for example, are designed for someone running 8.6 MPH. The ranging ladders are built around a 5-foot 10-inch target. If MILs aren’t a familiar format for you, the manual does an excellent job of explaining them and how they relate to range. 

A benefit of using a MIL reticle over a BDC is that the MIL reticle can be made into a BDC for any caliber, barrel length, and load. It’s all about dialing in your dope and keeping good notes. A BDC is brain dead simple, but a MIL reticle is more versatile. 

The illumination ring on the GLX 2.5-10×44 FFP is awesome, and I think the off position between each setting is fantastic. This allows me to access my favorite setting for a particular environment without going through all the illumination settings. The illumination is also quite bright and easy to see in the brightest parts of the day. As a Sunshine State resident, plenty of optics can get washed out between 1200 and 1400 due to that vitamin D delivering star in the sky. 

Zeroing

Zeroing is quick and easy with those big ol’ turrets and their easy-to-read markings. The locking button is simple to defeat and gives confidence you won’t lose your zero if you’re bumping and grinding through the woods. 

Parallax adjustment is simple, and the hardest part of diopter adjustment is removing the scope cover. The 2.5-10X magnification range is very versatile and is more than enough for the typical Florida hunting environment…more most environments the average hunter will find himself in.

Since my Ares SCR is my go-to hunting AR, it became the rifle of choice here. I also know .223 Remington ballistics better than other calibers because it’s the one I tend to shoot the most.  

Primary Arms GLX 2.5-10x44 Rifle Scope

It’s a big guy and a hefty one (Courtesy of Travis Pike for TTAG)

The big chevron is very clear and easy to see, and quick to aim with. Chevrons over crosshairs have been my preference since my time with the ACOG, so I have no complaints there. I used a familiar 50/200 zero, and doing so was quite easy with the 10X magnification setting.

I could easily see my hits and calculate a MIL at a time to adjust. Funny enough, I only needed to adjust upward 3 MILs to be dead on. No left/right adjustments were needed. 

Long Range Shooting 

Once I was zeroed, I moved back to 300 yards and began popping off at steel targets. Since COVID rolled in, finding longer ranges to shoot at has been difficult. At 300 yards, I used the 3.5 MIL mark on the stadia to land my shots with as much precision as my hasty prone position could deliver. At 300 yards, the optic provided an extremely clear picture of my various targets. This included a hanging rifle gong and an IPSC steel target. 

At 300 yards, the magnification gets you close enough to see the targets and the glass’s wonderful clarity makes it easy to make out your target. With steel targets, that’s simple, but if you’re shooting at harder to see targets, the GLx won’t he a hinderance. 

Primary Arms GLX 2.5-10x44 Rifle Scope

The turrets make adjustments very easy (Courtesy of Travis Pike for TTAG)

The eye relief is between 2.7 to 2.8 inches, and that’s generous enough for me. It’s quite comfortable to use at that distance, and the eye box is very generous.

Avoiding scope shadow is very easy, and you can quickly get the gun up and on target. You won’t be hunting around for a clear picture. Combined with an illuminated reticle, you are capable of getting the gun up, on target, and placing accurate shots on target swiftly. 

The Box Test

I used a Champion Target with 1-inch increment scaling to test the scope’s tracking accuracy. I kept it simple. I used measurements of 10 and 20 clicks, which is 1 or 2 mils, so either 3.6 inches or 7.2 inches at 100 yards. 

Primary Arms GLX 2.5-10x44 Rifle Scope

Weird rifle, but cool optic (Courtesy of Travis Pike for TTAG)

The Primary Arms GLx 2.5-10×44 has precision adjustments with a final margin of .2 from the center of the first shot and the center of the last. The shots were touching, and this was the most critical means I could find to measure it.

A margin of .2 could easily be explained by user error or commercial ammunition variance. The GLx delivers sure, precise, repeatable adjustments. 

I was surprised by the number of features and level of quality of this new Primary Arms GLx line scope. It does everything 98% of shooters need and accomplishes all of it with exceptional clarity, build quality and a feel that you expect in much more expensive rifle scopes.

Specifications: Primary Arms GLx 2.5-10×44 Rifle Scope

Magnification: 2.5-10X
Tube Diameter: 30mm
Length: 12.5 inches
Weight: 22.5 ounces
Adjustment Value: .1 MIL
Focal Plane: First
MSRP: $649.99

Ratings (out of five stars):

Ergonomics * * * *
The GLx GLx 2.5-10×44 controls are spot on. They feel like the controls on a much higher priced otpic. Adjustments are precise and easy to make. The biggest downside — if there is one — is the optic seems a bit heavy. 

Clarity * * * * *
The GLx was a very clear optic, and while I could only shoot it at 300 yards, I took the scope to browse out to 700 yards and beyond. I could make out stop signs, see the green for street signs, and pick out various environmental factors quite quickly and in varying light conditions. 

Built Quality * * * * *
This optic is built like a tank. The finish is extremely well done, and the turrets and moving parts all deliver satisfying feedback and feel truly excellent…like those on a much more expensive scope. 

Overall  * * * * 1/2
Primary Arms’ GLx line is fantastic. Primary Arms has noticeably upgraded their products in recent years and moved from a budget brand to a highly respectable optics titan. The GLx is a newer line, but is promising and delivers feature-filled performance for the dollar. The Primary Arms GLx 2.5-10×44 will become a permanent fixture this fall as rifle season rolls around, and I hope to score a freezer full of venison. 

comments

  1. avatar Asdf says:

    Good to see the Ares SCR in the field. My Fightlite in 6.5 Grendel is one of my favorite guns to shoot. Just fun.

    1. avatar SoCalJack says:

      Ares SCR has always piqued my interest. I’d buy one if I could. I think there is a aftermarket mag release button making it easier to reach.

    2. avatar Michael says:

      I was instantly more interested in the rifle as soon as i saw the picture of the story???LOL
      I love the whole look of that rifle!!! Give it a full sized magazine and you got something there!!! I gota get me one like it?? I love the traditional stock on it the most!!!Where dose someone get one of those????

      1. avatar William Dean Allen says:

        I want to know all about the rifle! Never mind the scope.

  2. avatar anonymous says:

    1) That is the ugliest AR lower I have ever seen in my life.

    2) Warranty for the scope? $650. Warranty? Leupold has the “Leupold Full Lifetime Guarantee.” Burris has the “No questions asked – forever warranty.” Bushnell has the “lifetime ironclad warranty.” Vortex has the “unlimited lifetime VIP warranty.” In all these warranties – no receipt is even required. You don’t even have to be the original owner. You just send them the scope and they fix it or replace it with something equivalent.

    What does Primary Arms have???

    1. avatar Travis Pike says:

      A lifetime warranty

    2. avatar Vic Nighthorse says:

      Ugly?! You probably think Britney Erica Austin isn’t super hot either.

      1. avatar Tom in Oregon says:

        Got me on that one.
        I threw up in my mouth a little…

  3. avatar Butthole durfer says:

    I love PA, but I’m honestly more interested in that rifle lol

  4. avatar Ferg in Tahoe says:

    I absolutely dig that rifle. Can someone tell me what it is or how to piece it together? AR upper with…
    I want to build one.

    1. avatar Ferg in Tahoe says:

      Once I put the beer down and read more thoroughly, I caught the Ares SCR mention. I’d never seen one. On my list in .308

    2. avatar Ron says:

      If I remember correctly they designed the stock like how a FAL stock works, where the bolt is shorter and attached to rod, and that rod pushes the spring down into the stock, the spring then pushes it back forward.

  5. Jute is the product that I am always looking for. Thanks for sharing it.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

button to share on facebook
button to tweet
button to share via email