A small but significant gun law reform has made it out of committee in Colorado on a rare unanimous vote. In many states, in order to pass “shall issue” concealed carry laws, irrational restrictions were included in the laws to horse trade for enough votes. Colorado was one of those states. In Colorado, once you had obtained a permit to carry a gun under your coat or in a pocket, you could only renew your permit in the county where you originally applied for the permit. If you changed your residence from Moffat county in the northwest, to Baca county in the southeast, you’d have to travel back to Moffat to renew your permit – in person – or go through the entire permitting process from the beginning in your new county. The modest reform under consideration would allow you to renew in either county . . .
Douglas County is an example of how difficult it is to go through the original application process. It must be done in person between the hours of 9:00 am and 4:00 pm. And only on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays. The timing seems intentionally designed to force people with regular jobs to take time off from work to apply for a permit. The combined non-refundable fee for the permit is $152.50. The renewal fee is $63.
While it may seem ridiculous to have to renew your permit in person, that’s the law in Colorado at this time. HB14-1166 would allow residents to renew their permit in the county in which they reside, as well as where the permit was originally issued. In a stark contrast, South Carolina’s Governor Nikki Haley just signed into law CCW reform that allows people to renew their permit over the internet.
Both Colorado and South Carolina have bills pending to restore constitutional (permitless) carry. Colorado’s bill has been bottled up in committee, while South Carolina’s bill is still pending. Stay tuned.
©2014 by Dean Weingarten: Permission to share is granted when this notice is included.
Link to Gun Watch